North Slope Borough-An Oil Spill Workshop (NRDA & ERMA®)

Coastal Response Research Center logo Coastal Response Research Center

North Slope Borough-An Oil Spill Workshop (NRDA & ERMA®)

Thursday, November 8, 2012 to Friday, November 9, 2012
The Inupiat Heritage Center, Barrow, Alaska

NORTH SLOPE BOROUGH WORKSHOP REPORT (pdf) here>>

MEETING GOAL

The goal of this meeting will be to discuss community involvement in spill response and natural resource damage assessment (NRDA) and restoration/recovery.

  • To integrate local community knowledge into Environmental Response Management Application (ERMA®)
  • To enhance relationships between local communities and government agencies regarding planning and preparation for potential oil spill response, NRDA and restoration/recovery.

AGENDA

Please view agenda here>>

PARTICIPANTS

Here>>

PRESENTATIONS:

Welcome, Overview and Goals of Meeting (Nancy Kinner)

Report on the Northwest Arctic Borough Oil Spill Workshop (Ukallaysaaq Tom Okelasik)

Overview of Spill Response (Dale Gardner)

Introduction to Arctic ERMA®(Amy Merten) [pdf]

"How can science improve decision-making in the Arctic?" (Fran Ulmer)

Day 2 - Opening Presentation (Nancy Kinner)

Introduction to Natural Resource Damage Assessment (NRDA), Restoration/Recovery (Mary Baker) [pdf]

Arctic ERMA® in NRDA and Restoration/Recovery (Amy Merten) [pdf]

 

BREAK OUT GROUP QUESTIONS>> here

PRE-READING RESOURCES

NRDA in Arctic Water: The Dialogue Begins Workshop Report (April 20 -22, 2010 in Anchorage, AK)

Opening the Arctic Seas: Envisioning Disasters & Framing Solutions Workshop Report (March 18-20, 2008 in Durham, NH)

Arctic ERMA Overview

MEETING LOCATION

The Inupiat Heritage Center
Barrow, AK
907-852-0422

LODGING

Top of the World Hotel (use booking code: oil spill workshop )
Barrow, Alaska 99723
907-852-3900
(Use booking code: oil spill workshop for rate of $190 plus tax per room (Government rate: $159.00 plus tax)

LOCAL TRANSPORTATION

City Bus will shuttle from Top of the World Hotel to/from Inupiat Heritage Center (free)

Taxis - flat rate of $6.00

WORKING ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Nancy Kinner, CRRC Co-Director nancy.kinner@unh.edu
Amy Merten, NOAA Co-Director, ORR Spatial Data Team amy.merten@noaa.gov
Mary Baker, NOAA ORR ARD
mary.baker@noaa.gov
Cheryl Rosa, U.S. Arctic Research Commission crosa@arctic.gov
Gary Shigenaka, NOAA
gary.shigenaka@noaa.gov
George Edwardson, Inupiat Traditional Government
george_edwardson@hotmail.com
Jennifer Schorr, Alaska Dept of Law
jennifer.schorr@alaska.gov
Johnny Aiken, Alaska Eskimo Whaling Commission
aewc1@gci.net
Randy Hoffbeck, North Slope Borough
randy.hoffbeck@north-slope.org
John Whitney, NOAA john.whitney@noaa.gov
Scott Pegau, OSRI wspegau@pwssc.org
Todd Sformo, Dept of Wildlife Management Todd.Sformo@north-slope.org