Northwest Arctic Borough-An Oil Spill Workshop (NRDA & ERMA®)

Coastal Response Research Center logo Coastal Response Research Center

Northwest Arctic Borough-An Oil Spill Workshop (NRDA & ERMA®)

Tuesday, May 22, 2012 to Wednesday, May 23, 2012
Kotzebue, Alaska

MEETING GOAL

The goal of this meeting will be to discuss community involvement in spill response and natural resource damage assessment (NRDA); to integrate local community knowledge into Environmental Response Management Application (ERMA®); and to enhance relationships between local communities and government agencies regarding planning and preparation for potential oil spill response and restoration.

Final Report here>>

AGENDA

Here>>

PARTICIPANTS

Here>>

PRESENTATIONS:

Overview of Meeting: Oil Spill Response, Planning & Preparation, Arctic ERMA®, Natural Resource Damage Assessment (NRDA), and Restoration/Recovery
Nancy Kinner & Amy Merten

Introduction to Spill Response for Offshore Oil Developments/Exploration in the Chukchi Sea
Frank Schiano

Ecological Risk Assessment for the Northwest Arctic Subarea Contingency Plan
Mary Baker

Introduction to ERMA®
Amy Merten

Introduction to Natural Resource Damage Assessment (NRDA), Restoration/Recovery
Mary Baker

PRE-READING RESOURCES

NRDA in Arctic Water: The Dialogue Begins Workshop Report (April 20 -22, 2010 in Anchorage, AK)

Opening the Arctic Seas: Envisioning Disasters & Framing Solutions Workshop Report (March 18-20, 2008 in Durham, NH)

Arctic ERMA Overview

MEETING LOCATION

The Northwest Arctic Heritage Center
171 Third Ave
Kotzebue, AK 99752

LODGING

Nullagvik Hotel (use booking code: Coastal Research)
P.O. Box 336, 336 Shore Avenue
Kotzebue, Alaska 99752
(907) 442-3331

DIRECTIONS here>>

WORKING ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Nancy Kinner, CRRC Co-Director nancy.kinner@unh.edu
Amy Merten, NOAA Co-Director, ORR Spatial Data Team amy.merten@noaa.gov
Mary Baker, NOAA ORR ARD
mary.baker@noaa.gov
Marie Greene, NANA marie.greene@nana.com
Millie Hawley, Maniilaq Association
millie.hawley@ymail.com
Ukallaysaaq Tom Okleasik, Northwest Arctic Borough
tokleasik@nwabor.org
Scott Pegau, OSRI wspegau@pwssc.org
Cheryl Rosa, U.S. Arctic Commission
crosa@arctic.gov
Lincoln Saito, Northwest Arctic Borough
lsaito@nwabor.org
Puya Bob Schaeffer, Northwest Arctic Borough
bschaeffer@nwabor.org
John Whitney, NOAA john.whitney@noaa.gov

Questions? Please contact kathy.mandsager@unh.edu (603.862.1545)