OTEC: Assessing Potential Physical, Chemical and Biological Impacts and Risks

Coastal Response Research Center logo Coastal Response Research Center

OTEC: Assessing Potential Physical, Chemical and Biological Impacts and Risks

Tuesday, June 22, 2010 to Thursday, June 24, 2010
Honolulu, Hawaii

Workshop Final Report

The "OTEC: Assessing Potential Physcial, Chemical and Biological Impacts and Risks" Workshop Report is now available.

  • The full version (including the appendix) here>>
  • The short version (without the appendix) here>>

Meeting Goal

This workshop will serve as one of several forums for information gathering to assist NOAA and DOE in preparing to meet their OTECA licensing and permitting responsibilities to ensure that the development of a commercial scale OTEC facility is environmentally acceptable prior to an awarded license. It will assist NOAA and DOE in identifying the baseline environmental studies and monitoring strategies needed for OTEC development, and where further research is needed. The overall goal of this workshop is to determine the baseline and monitoring data necessary to evaluate the biological impacts resulting from the operation of an OTEC facility, and how, when and where this data can be obtained. This workshop is a step towards increased federal agency collaboration and coordination which is crucial to the advancement of the industry towards commercial development. More>>

Agenda

Here>>

Participants

Here>>

Presentations

Workshop Background, Goals & Outcomes (Nancy Kinner)

Welcome from Department of Energy (Mike Reed)

Workshop Structure & Logistics (Stephanie Kavanaugh and Alison Hammer)

OTEC Restrospective (Luis Vega)

OTEC System Overview (Laurie Meyer)

OTEC Plume Modeling (Patrick Grandelli)

OTEC Site Assessments (Fred Arnold)

OTEC Impacts: Potential Physical, Chemical and Biological Impacts (Don MacDonald)

OTEC Impacts: Potential OTEC Impacts in the Hawaiian Marine Environment (Michael Parke)

Breakout Group Discussion Questions

Here>>

Breakout Groups

Here>>

Pre-Reading Materials

NOAA Technical Report: The Potential Impact of Ocean Thermal Energy Conversion (OTEC) on Fisheries (June 1986)

Harnessing Ocean Power (New York Times, May 18, 2010) More>>

Technical Readiness of Ocean Thermal Energy Conversion (OTEC) - CRRC Workshop Report here>>

Location

Ala Moana Hotel
410 Atkinson Drive
Honolulu, Hawaii 96814

Working Organizing Committee

 

Nancy Kinner

Alan Everson

UNH/CRRC

NOAA NMFS

nancy.kinner@unhe.edu

alan.everson@noaa.gov

 

Whitney Blanchard

NOAA OCRM

whitney.blanchard@noaa.gov

 

Kerry Kehoe

Eugene Bromley

NOAA OCRM

US EPA

kerry.kehoe@noaa.gov

bromley.eugene@epamail.epa.gov

 

George Detweiler

USCG

george.h.detweiler@uscg.mil

 

Donald MacDonald

NOAA Special Projects

donald.macdonald@noaa.gov

 

Lt. Scott Medeiros

USCG, Waterways

scott.r.medeiros@uscg.mil

  Lt. Doug Miller USCG, District 14 douglas.j.miller@uscg.mil
  Michael Parke NOAA michael.parke@noaa.gov
  Mike Reed US Dept of energy michael.reed@ee.doe.gov
  Tom Street NOAA thomas.street@noaa.gov
  Dwight Trueblood NOAA dwight.trueblood@noaa.gov
  Alison Hammer NOAA (Workshop Facilitator) alison.hammer@noaa.gov
  Stephanie Kavanaugh NOAA (Workshop Facilitator) stephanie.kavanaugh@noaa.gov

Questions? Please contact kathy.mandsager@unh.edu (603.862.1545)