OTEC Technology

Coastal Response Research Center logo Coastal Response Research Center

OTEC Technology

Tuesday, November 3, 2009 to Thursday, November 5, 2009
Durham, NH

Workshop Final Report

"Technical Readiness of Ocean Thermal Energy Conversion (OTEC)" here>>

Meeting Goal

The purpose of this workshop (co-sponsored with NOAA’s Office of Ocean and Coastal Resource Management (OCRM)) is to understand the technical readiness of a commercial scale OTEC system. The workshop will address the OTEC state-of-the-art technology, the technical feasibility and the time frame for commercial scale development. Specific group topics to be addressed at the workshop include: cold water pipe, heat exchangers, platform mooring, platform/pipe interface, pumps and turbines, platform, and power cable. The outcome of this discussion will provide insight on many of the outstanding questions in regards to the readiness, challenges and development horizons for industry and will enable NOAA to make better informed decisions of OTECA license applications.

Agenda

Click here for Agenda (pdf)

Welcome Nancy Kinner, Jan Nisbet, NOAA
Department of Navy William Tayler
Department of Energy Mike Reed
NOAA Kerry Kehoe
Background & Workshop Goals/Outcomes Nancy Kinner
OTEC Timeline & Participant Introductions Iris Ioffreda, Facilitator

Plenary Session: Setting the Stage

 

A. Cold Water Pipe

Alan Miller

B. Heat Exchangers

Avram Bar-Cohen

C. Platform Mooring

Rick Driscoll

D. Platform/Pipe Interface

Patrick Grandelli

E. Pumps & Turbines

Peter Pandolfini

F. Platforms

Edward Horton

G. Power Cable

Steiner Dale

H. Cycle/Auxiliary Uses

C.B. Panchal

I. Overall System & Program

Luis Vega

Workshop Structure & Logistics

Iris Ioffreda, Facilitator

BREAKOUT GROUP REPORTS

Group A. Cold Water Pipe Day 1 Day 2
Group B. Heat Exchangers Day 1 Day 2
Group C. Platform Mooring Day 1 Day 2
Group D. Platform/Pipe Interface Day 1 Day 2
Group E. Pumps & Turbines Day 1 Day 2
Group F. Platform Day 1 Day 2
Group G. Power Cable Day 1 Day 2

Panel Presentations

Cycle/Auxilliary Uses: OTEC as a System:
Desikan Bharathan Dallas Meggitt
James Roney C. B. Panchal
C.B. Panchal Susan Skemp
Robert Varley Luis Vega

DAY 3 - Plenary Discussion

"OTEC Past & Present"

"Research & Development Needs"

Participants

Invitation only

Working Organizing Committee

 

Nancy Kinner

CRRC

nancy.kinner@unh.edu

 

Whitney Blanchard

NOAA OCRM

whitney.blanchard@noaa.gov

 

Kerry Kehoe

NOAA OCRM

kerry.kehoe@noaa.gov

 

Bill Tayler

NAVFAC

william.tayler@navy.mil

 

Brian Cable

NAVFAC

brian.cable@navy.mil

 

Mike Reed

DOE

michael.reed@ee.doe.gov

 

Sue Skemp

FAU Ctr for Ocn Technology

sskemp@fau.edu

 

Dallas Meggitt

Sound & Sea Technology

dmeggitt@soundandsea.com

  Roger Babey    Inspired Systems

rbagbey@inspiredsys.com

  Iris Ioffreda  OLA Consulting (Facilitator) irisi@aol.com

 

Questions? Please contact kathy.mandsager@unh.edu or 603.862.1545.