USCG R&D: Arctic Response Workshop

Coastal Response Research Center logo Coastal Response Research Center

USCG R&D: Arctic Response Workshop

Friday, April 23, 2010
Anchorage, Alaska

Sponsored by U.S. Coast Guard, Research & Development Center

Workshop Final Report

Here>>

Meeting Goal

The immediate goal of this workshop will be to assess the current state-of-the-art of spill response in northern and western Alaska and determine what approaches could benefit from spill exercises potentially implemented in the Great Lakes. The topics to be address will be: fate and behavior of oil in the Arctic, oil detection, spill mitigation and recovery, and potential at-sea exercises. The outcome will be a report written by CRRC staff summarizing the dialog and conclusions. More info>>

Agenda

Here>>

Participants

Here>>

Presentations

Introductions/Expectations (Nancy Kinner)

Background (Kurt Hansen)

Past Experiences/Exercises (David Dickins)

Current Scenarios in Existing Contingency Plans:

Barge Failure (Jeffrey Estes)

Tanker Failure (Jeffrey Estes)

Blowout (Kurt Hansen)

Learning from the Selendang Ayu (Gary Folley)

Ice Characteristics (Chris Petrich)

A Brief Overview:

Detection (David Dickins)

Mitigation on Water (Al Allen)

Cleanup on Shoreline (Ed Owens)

Workshop Resources

Western Alaska Subarea Contingency Plan (Scenario Section)

North Slope Awareness Seminar and Table top Exercise (March 16-17, 2010) here>>

Working Organizing Committee

Kurt Hansen, USCG R&D kurt.a.hansen@uscg.mil
Nancy Kinner, CRRC nancy.kinner@unh.edu
Christy Bohl, US MMS
christy.bohl@mms.gov
Jeffrey Estes, USCG Sector Anchorage jeffrey.l.estes@uscg.mil
Larry Iwamoto, AK DEC
larry.iwamoto@alaska.gov
Lee Majors, Alaska Clean Seas
lmajors@alaskacleanseas.org
Scott Pegau, PWS OSRI wspegau@pwssc.org
Mark Wagner, USCG D17 mark.c.wagner@uscg.mil
John Whitney, NOAA john.whitney@noaa.gov

Location

Millennium Alaskan Hotel (Turnagain Room)
4800 Spenard Rd
Anchorage, AK 99517
(907) 243-2300

Lodging

Millennium Alaskan Hotel - ($99 government ID/ $119 others)
4800 Spenard Rd
Anchorage, AK 99517
(907) 243-2300

Questions? Please contact  kathy.mandsager@unh.edu (603.862.1545)